Vale clarifies on documentation required for Shareholders’ Meetings

10/4/2017

Vale clarifies on documentation required for Shareholders’ Meetings

Rio de Janeiro, October 4th, 2017 – Vale (Vale S.A.) clarifies that -- given the fact that an incorrect information was exchanged between J.P. Morgan, a third-party, acting as custodian agent for foreign investors in Brazil, and Broadridge Investor Communication Solutions, Inc. and its clients, regarding Vale’s documentation requirements -- it does not require notarization and/or consularization on any documents for participation in person or by proxy on its Shareholders’ Meetings. Vale also does not require sworn translation of documents in English or Spanish. 

These requirements are in place since the Extraordinary Shareholders’ Meeting (ESM) held on June 27th, 2017, when Vale adopted more flexibility in the documentation process. The same flexibility not only will be applied for both the Extraordinary Shareholders’ Meeting and the Special Class A Preferred Shareholders’ Meeting to be held on October 18th, 2017, but also Vale will accept all documents already submitted by shareholders for the ESM held on June 27th, 2017 as long as the documents, including the power of attoney (PoA), are still valid on October 18th, 2017. 

Other information regarding the procedures and documentation necessary for participation in the Shareholders’ Meetings can be found in the Manuals for Participation, available to shareholders on Vale’s website (http://www.vale.com/brasil/en/investors/company/corporate-governance/notices-minutes-corporate-documents/pages/default.aspx) and on the websites of the Brazilian Securities and Exchange Commission (www.cvm.gov.br), the B3 Brazilian Stock Exchange (www.b3.com.br) and the Securities and Exchange Commission (www.sec.gov).

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Claudia Rodrigues: claudia.rodrigues@vale.com
Denise Caruncho: denise.caruncho@vale.com
Mariano Szachtman: mariano.szachtman@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale clarifies on documentation required for Shareholders’ Meetings