Vale concludes the sale of vessels to Bocomm

12/7/2017

Vale concludes the sale of vessels to Bocomm

Rio de Janeiro, December 7, 2017 – Vale S.A. (Vale) and nominees of Bank of Communications Finance Leasing Co., Ltd. (Bocomm) concluded today the sale and purchase of two very large ore carriers (VLOCs) of 400,000 tons owned and currently operated by Vale. 

The transaction totaled approximately US$ 178 million and this amount was received by Vale on December 7, 2017, at the delivery of the vessels. 

This transaction concludes the sale of all 19 VLOCs owned by Vale and is consistent with our strategy of strengthening the balance sheet and focusing on core assets.

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Julio Molina: julio.molina@vale.com
Luiza Caetano: luiza.caetano@vale.com
Pedro Terra: pedro.terra@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale concludes the sale of vessels to Bocomm