4/20/2018

Vale informs the extension of the Preliminary Agreement with Public Prosecutors

Rio de Janeiro, April 20th, 2018 – Vale S.A. (Vale) informs that, as per our press release of 19 January 2017, Samarco Mineração S.A. ("Samarco") and its shareholders, Vale and BHP Billiton Brasil Ltda. ("BHPB"), entered into a Preliminary Agreement with the Public Prosecutors on January 18th, 2017 in order to determine the process and timeline for negotiation of a final settlement of especially the BRL 155 billion and BRL 20 billion Public Civil Claims relating to the Samarco´s Fundão dam failure. 

The 12ª Vara Federal Cível/Agrária de Minas Gerais (Federal Court of Minas Gerais) has extended the final date for negotiation of a final settlement until June 25th, 2018 to continue negotiation of the framework for the settlement of the Public Civil Claims related to the Samarco dam failure. Until that time, the interim security arrangements and the current suspension of legal proceedings will remain in place.

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale informs the extension of the Preliminary Agreement with Public Prosecutors