Vale on Brucutu mine operations

6/19/2019

Vale on Brucutu mine operations

Rio de Janeiro, June 19th, 2019 – Vale S.A. (“Vale”) informs on the decision by the president of the Superior Court of Justice (Superior Tribunal de Justiça) granting the request presented by the São Gonçalo do Rio Abaixo city, suspending the effects of the decision of Minas Gerais State Court (Tribunal de Justiça do Estado de Minas Gerais), that granted the preliminary request for injunction by the State Public Prosecutors of Minas Gerais in the Appeal n. 0338087-51.2019.8.13.0000, within the scope of the public civil action n° 5013909-51.2019.8.13.0024, that suspended the activities at the Laranjeiras dam, located at Brucutu.

 The above-mentioned decision will enable the full resumption of wet processing operations at Brucutu within 72 hours, thus increasing the average quality of Vale’s product portfolio.

Vale reaffirms its 2019 iron ore and pellets sales guidance of 307-332 Mt, as per previous announcement, and informs that its current sales volume will move towards the midpoint of the range.
 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Julio Molina: julio.molina@vale.com
Luiza Caetano: luiza.caetano@vale.com
Pedro Terra: pedro.terra@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

e midpoint of the range.

Vale on Brucutu mine operations