5/15/2018

Vale on the closing of nitrogen and phosphate assets in Cubatão

Rio de Janeiro, May 15th, 2018 – Vale S.A. (Vale) confirms that it has completed the sale of its fully owned subsidiary Vale Cubatão Fertilizantes Ltda., which owns and operates the nitrogen and phosphate assets located in Cubatão, Brazil, to Yara Brasil Fertilizantes SA. According to the terms disclosed on November 17th, 2017, Vale and its subsidiaries received US$ 255 million in cash. 

The closing of the transaction is one more step towards the deleveraging and simplification of Vale’s asset portfolio.

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale on the closing of nitrogen and phosphate assets in Cubatão