Vale signs agreement to purchase Ferrous Resources Limited

12/6/2018

Vale signs agreement to purchase Ferrous Resources Limited

Rio de Janeiro, December 6th, 2018 – Vale S.A. (Vale) informs that it entered into a definitive agreement to buy Ferrous Resources Limited (Ferrous), a company that currently owns and operates iron ore mines closely located to Vale’s operations in Minas Gerais, Brazil. The purchase price is US$ 550 million and the transaction is expected to occur in 2019, subject to various conditions precedent. 
 
Further details will be presented on December 6th, 2018, during the Vale Day in London, which will be transmitted live via video webcast through Vale’s website, www.vale.com, starting at 11:15 am London time, 9:15 am Rio de Janeiro time and 6:15 am New York time. 
 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale signs agreement to purchase Ferrous Resources Limited