Vale informs change of Chairman of the Board

2/24/2016

Vale informs change of Chairman of the Board

Rio de Janeiro, February 24, 2016 – Vale S.A. (Vale) informs that Chairman of the Board Mr. Dan Antonio Marinho Conrado will be replaced by Mr. Gueitiro Matsuo Genso as of February 24, 2016.

Mr. Conrado has made relevant contributions to Vale in his position as Chairman of the Board since October 2012. Upon retiring from the position of Chairman, Mr. Conrado will continue to act as a member of Vale’s Board.

Mr. Genso took over as CEO of Previ in February 2015, after having served in several directorship positions at Banco do Brasil since 2009 and acting as Board Member in several other institutions. He has also been a member of Vale’s Board since March 2015.

The above mentioned change in Chairman is a natural transition that reinforces both Vale’s strategic direction and its short and medium term initiatives. 
 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Julio Molina: julio.molina@vale.com
Luiza Caetano: luiza.caetano@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale informs change of Chairman of the Board