Vale announces the completion of the Ferrous Resources Limited’s acquisitio

8/1/2019

Vale announces the completion of the Ferrous Resources Limited’s acquisitio

Rio de Janeiro, August 1st, 2019 – Vale S.A. (Vale) informs that it concluded the acquisition of Ferrous Resources Limited (Ferrous) in accordance with the terms disclosed on December 6, 2018. 

 
Vale reaffirms the importance of this acquisition, which will immediately increase Vale’s own production with 4 Mtpy of high-quality pellet feed at competitive operating costs, once the Viga 4 project had a successful ramp-up, thus reaching its full capacity. Ferrous owns and operates iron ore mines closely located to Vale’s operations in Minas Gerais, Brazil. 

 
The completion of this acquisition is aligned with Vale’s strategy of maximizing the flight to quality in the Iron Ore business.
 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3814-4540

Rogério Nogueira: rogerio.nogueira@vale.com
André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Claudia Rodrigues: claudia.rodrigues@vale.com
Marcio Loures Penna: marcio.penna@vale.com
Mariano Szachtman: mariano.szachtman@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future and not on historical facts, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​

Vale announces the completion of the Ferrous Resources Limited’s acquisitio