4/12/2001

CVRD Negotiates the Acquisition of FERTECO

Rio de Janeiro, April 12, 2001 – Companhia Vale do Rio Doce (CVRD), the world´s largest producer and exporter of iron ore, is in discussions with ThyssenKrupp Stahl AG (TKS), one of the largest steelmaking groups of Europe, which may lead to the acquisition of 100% of Ferteco Mineração S.A.(Ferteco). Ferteco is a Brazilian company engaged in the mining and processing of iron ore based in the state of Rio de Janeiro and wholly owned by TKS. CVRD and TKS will make a public announcement at the appropriate time.

Ferteco is the third largest Brazilian producer of iron ore, with a production capacity of 15 million tonnes per year. It operates two iron ore mines, Fabrica and Feijão, and a pellet plant in the Iron Quadrangle region in the state of Minas Gerais, Brazil. Ferteco also owns 10.5% of MRS Logística S.A., a Brazilian railroad company, and 100% of Companhia Portuária Baía de Sepetiba S.A., which operates a maritime terminal in the port of Sepetiba, Rio de Janeiro.​

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3485-3900

André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
André Werner: andre.werner@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Samir Bassil: samir.bassil@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Clarissa Couri: clarissa.couri@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), and the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.

​​


CVRD Negotiates the Acquisition of FERTECO