Vale informs on the injunction to present guarantees

6/11/2020

Vale informs on the injunction to present guarantees

Rio de Janeiro, June 11, 2020 – Vale S.A. (“Vale”) updates on the press release “Vale becomes aware of a lawsuit filed by the MPMG” published on May 27th, 2020 and informs that the Court (TJMG) judge Peixoto Henriques, issued a provisional decision in order to grant the suspension of the request to present guarantees in the amount of R$ 7.9 billion. The court considered that there is no evidence of any risk that Vale would not comply with a future decision on the lawsuit. The suspension stands until a new decision to be made by the judge Belizario de Lacerda, that may confirm or modify the current decision.

 

For further information, please contact:
+55-21-3814-4540

Rogério Nogueira: rogerio.nogueira@vale.com
André Figueiredo: andre.figueiredo@vale.com
Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
Fernando Mascarenhas: fernando.mascarenhas@vale.com
Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com
Bruno Siqueira: bruno.siqueira@vale.com
Claudia Rodrigues: claudia.rodrigues@vale.com
Marcio Loures Penna: marcio.penna@vale.com
Mariano Szachtman: mariano.szachtman@vale.com
Renata Capanema: renata.capanema@vale.com
Denise Caruncho: denise.caruncho@vale.com

This press release may include statements that present Vale’s expectations about future events or results. All statements, when based upon expectations about the future and not on historical facts, involve various risks and uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove correct. These risks and uncertainties include factors related to the following: (a) the countries where we operate, especially Brazil and Canada; (b) the global economy; (c) the capital markets; (d) the mining and metals prices and their dependence on global industrial production, which is cyclical by nature; and (e) global competition in the markets in which Vale operates. To obtain further information on factors that may lead to results different from those forecast by Vale, please consult the reports Vale files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Brazilian Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM), the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and in particular the factors discussed under “Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Vale’s annual report on Form 20-F.


Vale informs on the injunction to present guarantees